The Institute's strategic and operational activities are overseen by the following committees. 

Advisory Council


Professor Andrew Thompson (Professor of Global and Imperial History, Nuffield College, University of Oxford

Ex officio members

Professor Rick Rylance (Dean, School of Advanced Study)    
Professor Jo Fox (Director, Institute of Historical Research)
Professor Philip Murphy (Director, Institute of Commonwealth Studies)    

Universities and similar 

Dr Karl Hack (Senior Lecturer in History and Head of the School of History, Religious Studies, Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology, Open University)
Professor Elizabeth Buettner (Professor of Modern History, University of Amsterdam)
Dr Harshan Kumarasingham (Lecturer in Politics, University of Edinburgh)
Dr Lorna Lloyd (Reader in International Relations, Keele University)


Mr Andrew Tuggey (Chief Executive and Secretary, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association)
Dr John Kirkland (Deputy Secretary General, Association of Commonwealth Universities)
Mr Michael Ohajuru (Independent historian)
Dr Richard Smith (Senior Historian, Foreign and Commonwealth Office)

Academic libraries

Ms Hilary McEwan (Librarian/Archivist, Commonwealth Secretariat)

Elected Staff Member

Dr David Cantor (Reader in International Human Rights Law)

Student representative

Mr John McDonnell (PhD candidate, Institute of Commonwealth Studies)


The activities of the Institute are also overseen through various governance structures within the wider School of Advanced Study and University of London. Find out more about these governance mechanisms here.