Media Freedom in the Commonwealth

Media Freedom in the Commonwealth
18 November 2020, 9.00am - 7.30pm

Following the success of our ‘Taking Stock of the Commonwealth’ online conference in June, the Institute of Commonwealth Studies (ICwS) will be holding another day-long virtual conference on Wednesday 18 November, specifically focused on the issue of Media Freedom. Over a third of Commonwealth states are in the bottom half of the World Press Freedom Index 2020, but every member faces challenges in this area, and the issue of media freedom is one of the key concerns of the ICwS. The conference will consist of five regionally-based panels drawing on first-hand accounts from journalists based in a series of Commonwealth countries. Issues raised will include:


  • The relationship between an effective media and democratic accountability;
  • Dangers posed by political developments such as the rise of populism;
  • The role of the inter-governmental Commonwealth and civil society in upholding international standards that protect media freedom;
  • The impact of changes in technology and economic sustainability;
  • The impact of COVID-19 on media freedom;
  • Examples of good practice from across the Commonwealth.


Olga Jimenez
020 7862 8871